I promise I am alive and have been working hard. Last week my motivation was way off. I felt slow and tired most of the week. My times were okay and I really did run. I did Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and again today. I did one strength training class too. The concert was awesome but I woke up feeling awful the next morning. Headache, fatigue, the whole nine. Friday, I had to take a bathroom break in the middle of my four mile run and it was a near disaster. 

That’s when my friend suggested to me that I might want to try a gluten free diet. I started doing some research and I think that may be part of the problem. I love all things gluten. Pasta and bread are my favorites. Thinking about my week, I noticed that the headaches followed cupcakes, taco bell, and burger king. The fatigue early in the week followed birthday cake. Friday’s issues followed a firehouse sub and brownie. It kind of made sense. I continued to make bad decisions over the weekend. Olive Garden does have gluten free options but I decided to try a regular one. It did not go well. I felt so heavy and gross. I have done a little research and have found that the best way to test yourself to see if you have a sensitivity to gluten is to eliminate it from your diet for several weeks and then re-introduce it to see if there is an effect. I’m going to be lightening my gluten intake for now and will eventually (after much research) eliminate it and see what happens. 

In other news, there was a great run clinic tonight that I rearranged my schedule to attend. The local running store had a newton rep come out and they let us test their shoes. I liked mine a lot at first. Mile 2 I started having some pain in the knees so I figure I will just wait until I get fitted on vacation to decide what to buy. I did enjoy the run with my girls though. The whole gang was together again. Four of us ran in a group and I was actually one of the faster paced ones in our particular group so that made me feel good. I hope to catch upon my postings and my reading this week. 

Here are a few pics from my run Friday. I love our nature center.