I’m going to take this post in a bit of a different direction today. I know that I have been primarily writing about writing and Disney but I may stray from those topics every now and then. I have several passions. Running and Disney are obviously two of them. Another is reading. I have always been an avid reader. There were summers as a kid where I actually read a few hundred books. They logged it. I was richly rewarded with candy and cheap toys from the library as a part of their summer reading program. The joke was on them, however, I would have done it without the bribe.
I love many different kinds of stories but, as a therapist, I love delving into minds that are quite different from my own. My favorite genre is mystery. I have a couple favorite authors. Chelsea Cain (who is insanely cool to meet in person), Gillian Flynn, and Douglas Preston Lincoln Child are a few of my top ones. 

My post today is about The Cinderella Murder by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke. I picked the book up at first because I recognized both names. I read Mary Higgins Clark in high school and I follow Alafair Burke on Twitter. I bought the book because the cover sounded amazing. 

I just finished the book less than 30 minutes ago and the only reason I am not running out right now to get the next book in the this series is, well, the stores are probably closed since it’s late on a Sunday and I’m strictly prohibited from buying myself anything until after Christmas. The book is about a television show that chooses cold cases to take a closer look at. They tell you in the beginning that the first one they focused on ended up being solved as a result of the show’s research and discoveries. They have chosen to feature an unsolved murder of an aspiring actress and college student in California. The case features a Hollywood director and even touches on religion and Internet companies. 

I’m not even sure where to start my praise for this book. The main character, Laurie, was a very relatable and likable person. She had flaws an baggage like any real person would. She was strong and smart. She was in television but was not the typical power driven, step on the little guy kind of character you usually see in that kind of position. She had grace, class, and standards. All of that was much like the girl whose murder she was looking into. They provide you with multiple suspects that are for great twists. Each character is handled well and given a true purpose to the story. The chapters are relatively short, which made it easy for me to read with my crazy schedule. The voices of the authors blended very well and I was unable to put it down. I highly recommend this book to any mystery lover and cannot wait to go pick up the second on in the series. 

