I will be the first to admit, I suck at maintaining good nutrition. I gave it a good try for several months with the protein shakes for lunch. They were great for a while. I LOVED the apple pie shake recipe. Convenience is a huge part of the trouble I have with nutrition. I work as a mental health therapist and go house to house. That’s right guys, I have a master’s degree and the closest thing I have to an office of my own is my car. It’s awfully hard to hang the degrees in there but at least my schedule is flexible. The whole reason I started exercising at first was that my job was well on the way to butchering my weight. I sit in a car, sit on a couch, sit in a car, and repeat…all day. When I get a lunch break, I have to have something fast and, for a while, that meant lots of Taco Bell and Burger King. When two of my clients asked me if I was pregnant in the same day I signed up for a gym membership. The wedding later on was another reason but it stuck after than just for me wanting to be stronger. 

  
That being said, I’m sick to death of protein shakes! I like food that I can chew. I like lunches that don’t taste like desserts. My intern is riding with me again this fall and last week she brought her lunch with her. She said she was on a cleanse and could only eat certain things. She inspired me. I went out and bought myself a lunch box and researched the ins and outs of meal prep. If all goes well, this will be my Sunday routine. I made meat loaf loaves, chocolate zucchini muffins, balsamic roasted carrots, and roasted zucchini. I also bought frozen fruit that I divided into small tupperware containers. Its all sitting in the freezer just wating on me to pull them out and heat them up. Since this is a short work week (Labor Day holiday and I don’t work when they pay me to stay home) I’m even trying some of my meat loaf for dinner. I’ll try to continue sharing the journey with this meal prep stuff and maybe even post some fun recipes if anyone is interested. 

   
   
Another big thing from today is….I signed up for a new race!! A cousin from the hubby’s side is a runner too and we really enjoy hanging out together. She lives in St. Louis, MO and invited me to come up for the Hot Chocolate 15K in December. I’ll drive or fly in and stay with her for the weekend so we can do the race together. If you haven’t heard about this race you should definitely look it up. The goodie bag has a reusable, embroidered bag and instead of a shirt you get a really awesome running jacket!! I’m so pumped! 

Has anyone else done meal prep? Any good recipes to share?  What about fun new races?

