Already miss this man like crazy.

This has been a tumultuous week. The day we lost Captain seems like forever ago. I will be honest with all of you. I haven’t done jack since Sunday. I felt a little guilty but, at the same time, not at all. Today, I started writing my biography of Captain’s life. I started out pretty good but got stuck after just one paragraph. I have this thing about writing that creates more frustration than it really should. I wrote stories ever since I could put sentences together and I loved it. That all ended when I moved back in with my parents for graduate school. My mother found a story I wrote and totally flipped out on me. This blog was the first thing I have been able to write since that day, roughly seven years ago. It’s almost debilitating. 

I decided that would be the perfect place to step back and clear my head. A run was in order and well overdue. First, I had to run to the nearest sporting goods store and pick up some new gear. I only had two skirts and one pair of shorts to run in and I sat in dog pee wearing the only one of those that was clean. I ended up hitting the jackpot in the clearance section. Two new skirts and a new bra! Woohoo!! I threw the new duds on and headed out the door. I used two trackers, Mapmyrun and my Garmin forerunner 15. I clocked in 4 miles and my pace was different between the two trackers. I don’t know that I will do that again. I just wanted to use mapmyrun as a way of sharing my training with the friend that is going with me to Princess weekend. My pace was somewhere between the lower 11 or high 12 min/mile. 

  

I wish this could be accepted as my true pace but there’s a bit of a dicrepancy between my two trackers..

When I got back, the rest of the family arrived and were starting to go through more pictures. Captain was incredibly selfless and donated his body to science so there isn’t a funeral but we will have a memorial service. It’s been super hard on hubs getting ready for this. I have a good portion writtend AND got my run in. I feel completly refreshed and not prepared to go back to work tomorrow. I still have some work to do on the bio but it is coming along pretty nicely. 

In other news, the announcement of the inaugural Star Wars half marathon weekend in Disney World has me wanting to see if I can transfer registrations. You guys may know more about if this is possible or not. Captain loved Star Wars and the whole family talked about joining in and doing the 5K together and doing it in Captain’s memory. He loved Disney World and would have given anything to have been able to go back for his seventh time. My mother in-law is even talking about doing it with us and making a family plus friends weekend out of it. As much as I want to do the Princess Weekend, I would give anything to make this happen but I guess we will see!

