I have been told many times that running is more of a mental game than it really is a physical one. For me, it’s so true. My mind is the one telling me slow down. Catch your breath. You can’t run that fast. Why do you do this to yourself? I very much have a blerch that chases me at times (Love The Oatmeal. If youhaven’t checked his stuff out you really should!) I fight it with a combination of awesome tunes (cue Awolnation and Imagine Dragons) and mantras. I have had several over the past year since I got serious about running but my new one is courtesy of the hilarious Netflix show The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. 

It’s about a woman that was rescued from a polygamist cult where they were kept underground and forced to take turns turning the Mystery crank. Kimmy’s mantra quickly became my own.  I can do anything for 10 seconds. I adapt it throughout the run depending on my intervals  but it basically mean the same thing. So thank you to the cousin who reccomended the show because this mantra helps me power through like none of the others. 

  
I did a hilly and hot 3 miles on my own. My friend I was going to run with had a family emergency so I adapted my plans. I ended up with a pace of 12:55 min/mile for 3 miles in the crazy hot weather. With the heat and the hills, I’m pretty happy about my times. It felt amazing and was just what I needed. I’m using the galloway method for training with my intervals set at 3 min run/1 min walk. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the intervals or if they need to be adjusted. If anyone has tips on intervals, I would be greatly appreciative.

   
 

Hot and sweaty me ready for steak with the hubs

I dedicated my run to my father in-law, who was in the hospital today (he’s okay but his health is definitely declining), a couple other family members, and my friend who had the family emergency. Tomorrow I’m going to try to drag my tail out of bed for a 5:30 am Spin class. We will see how that goes.

What’s your mantra? What gets you through the tough spots in a run?

