It’s funny. When you’re a runner…or maybe it’s just me….any time you inure yourself, a lecture comes about how bad running is for you. How you shouldn’t run long distances, bad for your knees, blah blah blah. It never seems to occur to most people I know to actually ask how you did it. They just assume. Funny thing is, running has improved my knees. A little back ground here….

I have had knee problems since elementary school. They didnot truly catch them until I was in 7th grade. I was all arms and legs so my parents just assumed that I was clumsy and would grow out of it. They later found out I have a condition called patellar instability. Basically, my growth spurts were so fast that my muscles were not able to stabilize the knee cap. It “pops” out of place. It’s a terrible feeling and one that gives me shivers thinking about it but I know how to cope. I had surgery on my right knee and it was fixed for a while but I became lazy in college and didn’t do the home exercises so it’s crummy again AND my left knee is doing the same thing. I had my worst fall ever last September that resulted in me wearing two knee braces. 

I have always hated these exercises. Resentment for being forced to do hours of therapy on them just to be able to have the slightest activity caused me to resist once I graduated high school. I couldn’t twirl batons competitively anymore so why do all that work? Now I have a new purpose. I love running. I love how I feel after a good run. I love the changes I am already seeing in my body. I love the sense of accomplishment I get from completing a race. That’s something that you can’t put a price on. My professional success relies mostly on my clients showing up for their appointments, success in running is all mine. It has made me a better therapist, wife, and friend. It really does change your life in so many ways that non runners just don’t understand or see. Not only that, but it has also inspired me to work hard to strengthen my knees so that maybe one day my princess running costume won’t include two bulky knee braces. The fall I had Tuesday was less painful and less sever possibly due to my improved work on those weak knees. I guess that’s my rant for the day. What are some of the pet peeves you guys have and what are some lower body exercises you can recommend to further improve my routine?

